Don’t be that guy!!

In April, I will be attending my 6th NASC Symposium. I want to believe I have grown and learned a lot since attending my 1st show in Omaha.

Since that first show though, I have noticed the same thing happens. The “NOOBS”, the new fresh faces at this show come in with ambition

to land that AAU Basketball National Championship, that USYSA President CUP Championship, or that GREAT WHITE BUFFALO (The Super Bowl as I call it)

at the Symposium. (I mean I was the same way, I knew I could land AAU, or at least a  NCAA Golf Regional)

Nope. It didn’t happen, any of it.

You want to know the reason why? It wasn’t for a lack of effort, it was because I didn’t know what my community was willing to support. My Vision was something different than the people of my town. They wanted smaller state regional events, while I wanted the glamour of national regional events. Ultimately it was a failure in my part by NOT KNOWING what my community is capable of handling.

This is the KEY!!!     You hear that everyone?

The secret for any great successful event, is to have community support of that said event.

What you want may be different that what you can provide. NGB’s, Event Directors, and Rights Holders want to have their events in communities that want

to have them there.

You can’t compare LA to NY, or Branson to Reno, or Kings Mountain, NC to Bozeman, MT.

Each community is not the same, even if population wise it seems they are similar.

You have to know what your community can host!

Just because an event ran great in one area doesn’t mean it will be great for yours.

What worked for many people I have spoken to over the years in recruiting events is:

  1. Know what your Community can host? Know your resources!!
  2. Learn about the Event, Group.
  3. Make sure your community is interested in support.
  4. Research communities that have hosted the event in the past.
  5. Call the city that hosted the event and ask questions

After you do follow the steps. Then you can move forward.

In MHO, It is better to spend time researching and developing relationships and knowing what to expect, than to shoot from the hip.

The great thing about our network of professionals is that if you call Justin Stine in Kansas, or Mike Anderson in North Carolina, or Tammy Dunn in Washington each of them will talk to you and help you out with any questions you may have. (Well maybe not Justin as he is on the Golf Course every other Day) but when he is in the office he will call you back.

I guess what I am trying to say to anyone who is reading this blog in preparation for the Symposium, is to ask questions. Don’t assume you know everything. Even people who have been doing this since many of us were in elementary school,  they still ask questions.

With that see you in LOUISVILLE!!!

newsom

Jesse Newsom

Jesse is the sports marketing director for the Fayetteville area CVB. He previously spent 4 1/2 years as the executive director of the Jacksonville Onslow sports commission. Jesse has over 9 years in the sports travel industry. He is probably the coolest guy you will ever meet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 108 other followers

